top of page

Letter 5

We’ve been camping out in an old train cart near the end of the yard for the night. I still can’t shake the feeling that there are eyes in the bushes. The cart provided the most security, even though it isn't very comfortable. One way in, one way out.


Yang was still dead set on hunting some of the creatures around here, so at about one in the morning we left our alcove to see what we could find.


And find we did.


There was a horde of these weird, skinny things a few yards away from our cart, just… standing there. I recognized them only from what I had read. Their sagging skin apparently could emit static somehow, and could knock people out just from the noise. No eyes, only indents where they should be. No nose or ears either, only slits.


I hated them from the first look.


At first, I didn’t know what to do. There were at least 10 of them, and who knew what else they could attract? If they could knock me out at a moment’s notice, what good would I do?


That didn’t really deter Yang from taking an axe to one of their heads.


Needless to say, that pissed off the group. Their skin started vibrating and MOVING about their body. Fuck it was horrible to watch. And the static! I couldn’t get it out of my head, no matter what I did.


But I didn’t get knocked out. I don’t know why. Maybe my special “mist gift” that Yang still has not told me more about kept me safe. Or maybe they just didn’t try to. I couldn’t tell you what happened. All I know is that I grabbed my bat and started swinging.


Their bones were so flimsy. They bled blue, too. Everywhere. There was blue everywhere. On the ground. Coating the grass. Pooling in the rocks. On me.


Sleep has been eluding me since then. I can’t get the image of their bodies lying in a pile, broken, beaten, torn. Just a few feet away. And the static won’t leave me be.


I killed something today, Shae.


Lynn

14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letter 8

I think we’re being followed. We expected to be followed by Coronum people, eventually. The bands of police bots or some underpaid interns or whatever. I would have thought, though, that it would take

Letter 7

Almost got hit by a car today. That was fun, I guess. Yang and I were walking down main street earlier. Later at night, too, so we figured it would be empty. Just kind of seeing what was up; if anythi

Letter 6

We stopped by the Paradox office today. Not to find or get anything. Just for nostalgia’s sake I guess. I don’t think nostalgia’s really the right word, but it’s the only one I got. You guys really di

bottom of page