top of page

Letter 3

Our adventure was mostly uneventful.


Mostly.


Okay, It was uneventful except for the one major part that happened.


Yeah.


We didn’t have any difficulties getting to the facility. Like Yang said, there was nothing to stop us from getting to the entrance. Beats me as to why they hid the entrance behind a waterfall, but Coronum has always liked their secrecy.


With some special maneuvers known as hitting it hard enough, Yang got through the door. The inside was pitch black, except for whatever light my phone flashlight gave off.


We had to go through an insanely long hallway to get to the actual facility. The further down we went, the more dense and oppressive the air felt.


Eventually we hit what seemed like a wall, but Yang did her magic again, and moved it (apparently it was a bookshelf or filing cabinet or something like that), and revealed a small crawl space.


Inside was a disastrous office space. There was shredded paper and furniture everywhere. Broken glass, discarded clothing (?), scraps of wood, a large broken ladder…


And chains. There were chains everywhere. Stuck in the walls, coiled on the floor, dangling from the ceiling… At the time, we had no clue where they came from.


Yang immediately started rooting around. She didn’t seem worried, so I helped her out. We didn’t find a whole lot that was intact. There were some shredded security files, old “experiment logs,” really old employee IDs, and a lot of other odds and ends. We also found an old Michael Jackson album, which was kind of odd, but that’s besides the point I guess.


After a bit, we went down one of the room’s hallways. It seemed like it was in utter shambles, even worse than the office (reception?) area. The tiling reminded me a bit of a stereotypical hospital, with what looked like plain white on all surfaces. Except they were all covered in grime and dirt, and most were coated with webs of cracks. There were chains all over here, too, both embedded in things and laying around on the ground. There were a couple of doors, all intact, but they all seemed to be jammed.


I tried to dislodge some of the chaining. It was really, really cold. It almost felt like it was giving me frostbite the instant I touched it, but the feeling went away rather quickly. I managed to dislodge some from the wall, too. Still have it, too, in a coil around my sleeping bag. Oh yeah, we’re camping right now, by the way.


Anyways, it seemed to bother Yang’s body more than it bothered mine. She couldn’t hold onto it for more than a few seconds. Left some marks that still haven’t faded on her hands too.


We spent around ten minutes, maybe? messing with the chains. Right around the end of that, the ground started shaking. We both froze.


Some giant… thing, rounded the corner. It was like a writhing mass of a dark group of chains, with spindly spiked arms (or legs?) jutting out near the bottom and dragging itself along the ground. Looking back, I think those were made of the chains too. I couldn’t make out a head, or anything else. I think, quite understandably, we ran. Neither of us knew what the hell it was. We made it back through that passage in one piece, luckily. It didn’t seem to try and chase us much, though we did hear it move past.


When I said it was supposedly something we could handle, I had assumed we would find something we had seen before. Not whatever that was.


We aren’t coming back to this place any time soon. We didn’t even find much of note. I’m looking through the papers we made off with now. I’m not sure what I’ll do with them, but at least we have them.


I should really get some sleep.


Lynn Allemond-Redford

7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Letter 8

I think we’re being followed. We expected to be followed by Coronum people, eventually. The bands of police bots or some underpaid interns or whatever. I would have thought, though, that it would take

Letter 7

Almost got hit by a car today. That was fun, I guess. Yang and I were walking down main street earlier. Later at night, too, so we figured it would be empty. Just kind of seeing what was up; if anythi

Letter 6

We stopped by the Paradox office today. Not to find or get anything. Just for nostalgia’s sake I guess. I don’t think nostalgia’s really the right word, but it’s the only one I got. You guys really di

bottom of page